ECS 303: Curriculum and Pedagogy

The ECS 303 Curriculum and Pedagogy Syllabus was co-created by two University of Regina Professors, Julie Machnaik, and Audrey Aamodt. Julie was my Professor for this course which I participated in during Fall 2023. The following posts are ones that refer to emails, course content, a resource list prepared by Julie and Audrey along with resources I located through my own research during this time period.

This is my Mapping Introduction, (pictorial, graphic, and written) which was one of the first activities that we engaged in for this course. This activity allowed us to think more deeply about our connections to our community, our place within it, and the broader community and environment.

Hello:-) My name is Leanne Reiman and I’ve lived in on Treaty 4 Territory in Regina for all of my life. [TR31 : Examine the relationships between First Nation peoples and the land, before and after the signing of treaties. Indicators: Ø Examine the impact of geography (e.g., grasslands, boreal forest or woodland, grain belt, lakeland regions) on the relationship between First Nations people and the land. Ø Describe the lifestyle changes of First Nations, prior to and after placement on reserves. Ø Discuss the worldviews associated with ownership of the land and consider the impact those views have on a person’s relationship to the land.] (Treaty Education Outcomes and Indicators Saskatchewan Ministry of Education 2013, Grade 3, p. 5). My map is representative of where I live now and the buildings or areas that are within an approximate 3 mile radius of my home. In Christensen’s article “Mapping Childhood: How Our Stories Build Community” she writes that “[n]arrative writing is the center of a social justice classroom.” I believe this is true as this style of writing would allow my future students and myself to connect on a deeper level by listening to or reading one another’s stories. [CC3.1 Compose and create a range of visual, multimedia, oral, and written texts that explore: • identity (e.g., Spreading My Wings) • community (e.g., Helping Others) • social responsibility (e.g., Communities Around the World) and make connections across areas of study. Indicators e. Create a variety of narratives and poems.] ).] (Saskatchewan Curriculum, 2010, Grade 3, ELA, pp. 30, 31). Throughout my childhood, my Mother grew beautiful flowers, and planted a large vegetable garden. I remember that one year the pink peonies she grew were transformed into bouquets that my sisters and I carried as members of our sister’s bridal party. During the summer we feasted on fresh vegetables, plums and apples from the trees in our yard, and chokecherries that we would pick from locations we drove to. We would can or process the remainder of the harvest which allowed us to enjoy the vegetables and fruit throughout the year. Many of us still do canning, including my nieces and nephews, and they are passing this talent on to their own children. My Father hunted and fished, and provided our family with delicious fresh fish dinners, and homemade sausage and other wild meat. My best friend, her brother, and I would “help” our Dads make the sausage in our neighbour’s smokehouse which he had built in his garage. [Outcomes USC3.1 Determine the role of a variety of healthy foods and physical activity on the health and development of the mind, body, and immune system. Indicators: e. Begin to distinguish between fact, opinions, misconceptions, and preferences regarding healthy foods and physical activity. f. Examine the roles of diet and physical activity on a healthy mind, body, and immune system. g. Determine that foods provide essential nutrients for health (see introduction to Canada’s Food Guide). h. Predict and recognize how food choices have a direct impact on the types and amounts of nutrients absorbed by the body. i. Analyze personal food choices for possible consequences on the mind and body (e.g., sugary foods lead to tooth decay, water makes it easier to concentrate).] (Saskatchewan Curriculum, 2010, Grade 3, Health Education, p. 15).I am not sure how my parents had the time to do everything that they did for us as they both worked outside of the home, and we are all indebted to them for the life lessons they taught us.

I have a passion for nature, and my love of gardening comes from my childhood as previously mentioned. When working in my yard it is wonderful to hear the songs of the birds in the trees, and to see the bees and butterflies pollinating the flowers and plants. Our neighbourhood is regularly visited by rabbits too! One of the places that family and I enjoy walking through is a park near my home which is then home to conifer and deciduous trees, different types of birds, squirrels, and culverts. Wascana Centre is approximately a 15 minute drive from my home, and it is another favourite walking destination. When walking around the Wascana Lake I always feel grateful to be amongst the beautiful variety of flora and fauna. Though I have never seen one, I have been told that coyotes are out at night in the park. [Outcomes PL3.2 Analyze the interdependence among plants, individuals, society, and the environment. [CP, DM, SI] and all of the Indicators, a. to n. for this Outcome]. (Saskatchewan Curriculum, 2010, Grade 3, Science, p. 28). I think that the more-than-human perspectives of Regina would be that the land looks much different now, than it did over 100 years ago. “The land where Regina is currently located was temporarily called “Pile O’ Bones” for the piles of buffalo bones kept in the area before shipping them East for fertilizer. Some of the piles of bones were over 6 feet high! The name was chosen to honour Queen Victoria, the reigning monarch at the time.” (https://tourismregina.com/blog/72-facts-you-may-not-know-about-regina/) I also think that the more-than-human perspective would include the desire that humans take only what they need from the land, gives thanks for it, and leave the rest. [Outcomes DR 3.3 Compare the beliefs of various communities around the world regarding living on and with the land. Indicators a. Research the view of land as held by indigenous peoples in communities studied. b. Identify ways in which people in communities studied interact with the land (e.g., meeting needs and wants, how land is protected or neglected). c. Identify local environmental issues that affect life in communities studied. d. Compare environmental concerns (e.g., air quality, soil conservation, water availability and quality) common to both the local community and communities studied.] ).] (Saskatchewan Curriculum, 2010, Grade 3, Social Studies, p. 21).

In reflection, one way that I could partner with my community is by attending the annual Treaty 4 Gathering and helping in any way that is needed. https://treaty4gatheringstudentactivities.wordpress.com/ In 2008 I was a member of the Saskatchewan CEP (Common Experience Payment) Implementation team, and this was a very meaningful experience, and learning opportunity for me. I shared what I had learned with colleagues, friends, and family. https://www.rcaanc-cirnac.gc.ca/eng/1100100015576/1571581687074

The Piapot First Nation has the Cree Land Mini Mart, a convenience store and gas station located on Piapot Urban Reserve Land in Regina (https://piapotnation.com/economic-development/) and I could purchase my gas there, and do some shopping as well, and I could encourage others to do the same. I can seek out other opportunities where connections can be made in order to learn from, and with one another.

Christensen, L. (2017). Mapping Childhood: How Our Stories Build Community. Rethinking Schools, 31(4). 

  • What does it mean to us to live in treaty? 
  • How does treaty 4 matter to you? 
  • What does “all our relations” mean to you?
  • How could treaty 4 be important for you as a teacher? What are teachers’ treaty responsibilities?

I have included Julie’s remarks below the link.

flip.com/s/RDusTcDrJbhu

Julie M 22d Educator

To build a “framework for living together” to gain an understanding of the spirit and intent of the treaties, as you are committed to continuing to learn and grow along with your students. You will to honour treaties, to see the connections and find ways to move forward, as one, in good ways.

Connection item: Explain the conversation starter / hook that you used (article, video, image, etc; provide a link if possible). How did you use it to prompt conversation?   The conversation starter/hook that I used to prompt our conversation on culturally responsive pedagogy was the song “Greatest Love of All” sung by Whitney Houston. The reason for using this song is because of its message which I interpreted as being the importance of building up or helping to maintain our students’ self-esteem. The link to this song is found on the first slide of the google slide presentation I created for our group discussion, and the presentation can be found at: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1tXwtZwPH5x8NFSTk-KLgwOcvUOCebgnZWalU6oFdubc/edit#slide=id.g27f5f681eb4_0_0   Prompts/questions I prepared to help lead the critical conversation:   1.  Why is it important that we practice culturally responsive teaching in our classrooms? How can we use culturally responsive teaching approaches to ensure that our teaching is student-centered? (Both questions are located on slide 2 of google slide presentation).   2. Why is it important to listen to our students’ stories? Why is it important to use our students’ given names?  (Both questions are located on slide 3 of google slide presentation).   3.  What are some of the activities and/or resources we can employ to have our classroom become one that is culturally responsive?  (This question is located on slide 4 of google slide presentation).   There is a fifth slide to this presentation, and I included it in order to receive feedback from my colleagues in this discussion group. It is a listing of the way to say “hello” in thirteen different languages, and while preparing this slide, I thought it would be a good way of welcoming students into our classroom. Upon reflection, I was not sure of this idea as it might make a student feel singled out, and perhaps a better way would be to research ways to say “welcome” in different languages, for our students who speak those languages as secondary or alternate languages to English. Feedback from my colleagues included that saying “hello” in different languages might prompt a student to want to learn another language, and that it was a good idea to use. I think that maybe it could be incorporated into our morning message where I could say good morning in a different language each day, as a way to show respect toward every student.
Quick Summary of Professional Reading Seminar: Be concise (1 paragraph). Note 2-3 key messages or themes (that emerged through the conversation)   One of the key messages or themes that emerged in our conversation was that practicing culturally responsive teaching in our classroom is important because it will ensure that all of our students feel like they belong. This style of teaching will validate the child’s identity, as well as their culture. Another key message was the importance of using the child’s given name because our names are the most important thing that we will know about a person.
Host Reflections: (1 paragraph) Think about your role as ‘host’. What did you learn about yourself (as teacher)? What surprised you? Were there any interesting pedagogical moments? What did you do really well? What would you do differently?   As a future teacher, the activity of being host gave me the opportunity to prepare a presentation that I hoped would engage us in deep conversation around the important topic of culturally responsive pedagogy. To me this meant that I needed to learn as much as possible about the topic, and that I provide a thought-provoking conversation starter, and stimulating discussion prompts. On two of the presentation slides I had more than one prompting question, and I felt guilty about this as we were only to have three prompts in total, however, I was glad that the extra questions were there as during the discussion they helped me to keep the discussion going. I did not monopolize the discussion, and thought this was a good thing to do as it is vitally important that everyone have a chance to speak and share their thoughts and opinions. On the fourth slide I included paraphrased questions from my colleagues’ 3-2-1’s and was so glad that I had as it allowed us to begin discussion on them. When it was time to leave the breakout room I left as soon as the message to do so appeared on the screen, after having said thank you, though I did not look at each participant when saying it – I would definitely be gracious next time, and thank everyone sincerely for helping me to learn.
Critical Thoughts: Explain how the readings help(ed) you practice seeing the topic through a critical lens. (2 succinct, edited paragraphs max; use citations). Engage with the pedagogical applications of the readings/viewings, especially related to education for social and/or ecological justice possibilities. Describe how the main ideas in the readings may impact your developing teacher practice. You are encouraged to reflect on how this could inform your ways of being and knowing in the context of your pre-internship placement.   The paragraph copied below helped me to view culturally responsive pedagogy through a more critical lens as the author relates an example of how we can ensure that we are providing an inclusive environment for all of our students. She writes that being intentional matters, and I think being intentional is one of the most important steps that a teacher can take to make inclusivity in their classroom become a reality. It will take time to do inclusive activities, though our efforts will be worth it because we are broadening our understandings of one another as human beings, and our individual identities. “Just as providing halal alternatives for students can create a more inclusive environment, so does understanding and making space for Islamic and other religious holidays in school culture and calendars. Being intentional matters. Holidays can be a major part of our students’ lives and often exist at the intersection of culture, religion, community, and home. They can help make sure students feel welcome, recognized, and safe inside the school building. Ramadan, the holy month in Islam during which many Muslims fast from sunrise to sunset, might sound overwhelming to unfamiliar teachers and schools acutely aware of the disruption caused by holidays already built into the school calendar. But the month of fasting is not disruptive — like all holidays it can be a great opportunity for learning, celebration of identity, and sharing — and schools can do simple things to be welcoming and accommodating for students who are fasting. When I started teaching in Seattle, I borrowed an idea from another school where I’d taught in London and offered the art room as an alternative to the cafeteria for Muslim students who chose to fast during Ramadan, hosting a coloring and reading club there during lunchtime.” (Vaught, 2017). Source: Vaught, C. (2017, April 18). Inclusivity is Not a Guessing GameRethinking Schools32 (Winter).  In Hiwot Adilow’s poem, “Name” she writes: ”my name is not a joke.
this is more than wind and the clack of a consonant.
my father handed me this heavy burden of five letters decades before i was born.
with letters, he tried to snatch his ethiopia back from the middle of a red terror.
he tried to overthrow a fascist.
he was thrown into prison,
ran out of his home
my name is a frantic attempt to save a country.” (Adilow, 2012). Hiwot’s poetry has further opened my mind about the importance of culturally responsive pedagogy in my classroom as in only 8 lines of her poetry, she has shown me her father’s past, where she comes from, and how it would be irresponsible and ignorant it would be for us not to take the small amount of time needed to learn how to correctly pronounce her name. Learning our students’ stories can make our classroom much more inclusive, and we can use different activities to learn about one another. I think that there is quite a bit of room for cross-curricular connections within personal story telling. Source: [TED]. Adilow, H. NAME: Amazing Poetry by Hiwot Adilow at Brave New Voices 2012 [Video]. Youtube.
Extending: What are you wondering about now? (i.e. thoughtful questions that arose from the conversation). How might you continue to grapple with the complexities you have noticed?   One of the questions that we discussed in our group was how can we ensure that we are placing an equal value on the importance of all cultural backgrounds in our classrooms while still teaching the necessary curriculum. We also discussed the importance of giving our students authentic cultural experiences, and thought that having a classroom potluck would be a good learning experience, but we would need to enhance it by having parents/caregivers/elders attend as well, so that they could share knowledge about some of the cultures being represented. It is very possible too that one or more of our students could speak about their cultures.

About Me – We made posts (copied below) about ourselves, so that our course colleagues, our cooperating teacher for our pre-intern field experience, and their students could get to know a bit more about us!
It was a very meaningful experience to spend 7 Wednesdays with the amazing grade 5/6 students at Wilfred Hunt Elementary School in Regina. The two cooperating teachers who were my guides, my two pre-intern partners, the students, and all the members of this school were welcoming and kind, and I am so looking forward to being with them again in March 2024 for the three-week block field experience.

Link to my Instructional Strategies video on using Strength-based approaches to learning: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1VNmsgQuhyvcVt_oI36Sv6VA9jsVIog7MO5zSYwqdo2s/edit

My current learning and teaching manifesto:

Resources 

Walking Together: Two-Eyed Seeing
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1okmqgiskGw

I also came across a post on Instagram from “The Outdoor Learning Store” that was in regard to the 4 Seasons of Indigenous Learning. More information on these courses can be found here: https://outdoorlearningstore.com/4-seasons/

Our Shared Stories: Journeying in Truth & Reconciliation – WCPS Superintendent Tim De Ruyck
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gV0XZfOYl7w

Detransition: I Want My Sex Back (Directed by Artyom Vorobey)  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3D8OyCT7ac


 

Leave a comment